“High Wycombe: Buckinghamshire’s Premier Town” 

High Wycombe Market Hall[1]  An illustrated talk by Julian Hunt at 2.30pm
  on Saturday 16th July 
at St Peter & St Paul Parish Church,
  Great Missenden HP16 0BA

  Julian Hunt was for many years the Local Studies Librarian at
  Aylesbury. He lectures on a wide variety of subjects
  connected with this County and is now President of the
  Buckinghamshire Archaeological Society.

A delicious Afternoon Tea is included in your ticket which will follow the talk.  Tickets: £10 are available at the church door on the day or from Samways, the Newsagent in Station Approach, Great Missenden.  We greatly look forward to seeing you: do come and join us!  There is ample free parking at the church.

All proceeds from this fundraising event will be dedicated to urgent stonework and roof repairs to the much-loved, historic Parish Church built in 1133, the oldest building in Great Missenden.  

Home-made jam, marmalade and chutney will be on sale, and a raffle will be held.  

Whilst Aylesbury and Buckingham were squabbling over which was the county town, High Wycombe was racing ahead as the most populous and prosperous town in Buckinghamshire.  High Wycombe's wealth came from its corn mills and maltings and from its strategic position on the Oxford Road. The Red Lion was one of several glamorous coaching inns and the town's coach-masters ran services from London to Gloucester, Worcester and beyond. One of the inns was occupied by the Royal Military College before it moved to Sandhurst in 1813. It was only in the 19th century that the manufacture of chairs was mechanised and that the High Wycombe landscape was dominated by chair factories.
Friends of Great Missenden Parish Church charity has made grants of over £148,000 since 2000 for restoration and repairs to the church fabric and Old Graveyard, thanks to wonderful support from so many people.  Contact: Vivienne Davis, Hon Chairman, Tel: 01494 891312
Friends of Great Missenden Parish Church (Registered Charity No:1067435).
Committee:  Hon. Chairman: Vivienne Davis,  Hon. Secretary: Jennifer Moss,  Hon. Treasurer: Nevil Coulson